Every Monday night, Eddie’s Attic hosts an open mic night as a forum for aspiring performing songwriters of all levels of ability.

Consisting of both local and national acts, performers have ten minutes each to make the Attic stage their own.  Each act performs two original songs, and a panel of judges chooses three finalists. These three are invited back to the stage at the end of the night to perform one more song, and the judges select one winner. Performers are judged in five different areas: songwriting, vocal performance, playing ability, stage presence, and audience response.

Bi-Annual Songwriter’s Open Mic Shootout

Monday Open Mic winners are invited back to compete for a $1000 cash prize in the Bi-Annual Open Mic Shootout, which is held the first Saturday in June and the weekend of Thanksgiving. The Shootout provides a rare opportunity for up-and-coming talent to showcase their music in front of a sold-out room of music industry professionals and avid music fans. In spite of the competitive premise of the event, it has actually proven to be a profound community building experience for all the songwriters involved. Great friendships as well as musical collaborations have grown out of this exciting night. Winners of previous Shootouts have used this event as a springboard for their careers.

Past Shootout Winners

I. Dayna Kurtz
II. Jennifer Nettles & Cory Jones
III. Uncle Mark Reynolds
IV.  Doria Roberts
V. Mike West & Myshkin
VI. Jeffrey Butts
VII. Tammy Fowler
VIII. Halcyon
IX.  John Mayer & Clay Cook
X. Dogwood Moon
XI.  Don Conoscenti
XII. Jeffrey Hyde Thompson
XIII. Jennifer Daniels
XIV. Daniel Lee
XV. Claire Campbell and Bain Mattox
XVI. Lindsey Hinkle
XVII. Paul Sprawl
XVIII.  Scratch Track
XIX. Nathan Mayberry
XX. Brilliant Inventions
XXI. Mike Willis
XXII. Michael Levine
XXIII. Bo Bedingfield
XXIV. Matt Williams
XXV. Autumn Fox
XXVI. Adrianne
XXVII. Miss Tess
XXVIII. The Smart Brothers
XXIX. Angel Snow
XXX. Seth Glier
XXXI. Chelsea Lynn LaBate
XXXII. Tyler Lyle
XXXIII. John Elliott
XXXIV. Jacob Jeffries Band
XXXV. Kelly McFarling
XXXVI. Breaking Laces
XXXVII. Jared & Amber

XXXVIII. Marshall Ruffin

XXXIX. Tyler Childers

XL. Laney C. Jones